How To Deactivate Uber Eats In 11 Steps

Twitter
Facebook
Reddit
WhatsApp

There are many ways to get your Uber account deactivated, and only one of them is the one you want and have direct control over. All of the others are for reasons that are either outside of your control or as a direct result of UberEats policy violations.

Other than a waiting period of thirty days, deleting your UberEats account is pretty simple, and you can do it in 11 steps, right from your computer. The thirty-day wait time is a part of UberEats’ policy and is really unavoidable. 

Of course, you can get your account deactivated in one easy step by violating UberEats’ policies, but that’s not how you want to go out. History has a way of catching up with you down the road. Nevertheless, here they are:

  • Tampering with Food
  • Physical Assault
  • Verbal Assault
  • Theft
  • Marking deliveries as complete (when they’re not)
  • Fraud
  • Lack of Insurance
  • No license
  • Too many late deliveries
  • Too many cancellations

There’s more, but you probably get the point and would rather get your account deactivated the right way. In that case, this article was tailor-made just for you, as we’ll walk you through the 11 easy steps to get your account deactivated.

Table of Contents

Deactivating Your UberEats Account In 11 Steps

You can do this from your smartphone, tablet, desktop, or whichever way you prefer because the process is the same regardless. However, it does have to be done through the website, not the app. 

  1. Go to the UberEats website and sign in. This is the desktop website that you can access on your web browser on any device, and it doesn’t matter what web browser you end up using.
  2. UberEats requires an email address or phone number as a username, so enter it in the first block, followed by your password in the second.
  3. If you have DFAS, you’ll need to authenticate your account by entering a code (on the desktop) that’s sent to either your email or via text message on your phone. 
  4. Select your account name in the top right-hand corner.
  5. This will open a drop-down menu from which you will select Help.
  6. When the next page opens up, select Account and Payment Options from the header at the top of the screen.
  7. A new page will open, and you need to find Delete My UberEats Account amongst the fine print.
  8. Now you get to re-enter your username and password again because that’s just the way it works. We only report the news here, not the ridiculous and confounding nature of business website navigation.
  9. Select Continue on the next page, as all you will see here is the number of Uber services you have linked to your overall account.
  10. Uber wants to know why you want to leave. On this page, explain it to them by selecting one of the available options. If you feel like elaborating, select Other.
  11. Now, confirm that you want to deactivate your account by selecting Delete on the next page.

Those are the eleven steps to deactivating your UberEats account. Now, UberEats won’t technically delete your account just yet. You’ll get a confirmation message, of course, because UberEats wants you to know that they know that you want to leave. 

A part of this automated process involves automatically logging you out of every app or desktop application that applies to Uber. After 30 days, Uber will permanently delete your account, and you’re good to go. 

Can You Reactivate Your Account?

If you’ve gone through the easy, 11-step process of deleting your account and informing UberEats as to why you don’t want to be a part of their program anymore, then decide you want to come back well, you can do that too.

All you have to do is open your UberEats app, visit their website, and log back in. Congratulations, you’re officially a member of the UberEats club again, and it’s that simple. 

Now, if you accidentally log back in, you’ll have to repeat the above 11-step process all over again because life is wonderful. Honestly, logging back in will efficiently suck you back into the UberEats fold, and you can continue with them as if you never left.

You won’t have to take any additional steps or explain to Uber why you want to come back after deactivating your account. 

Does Uber Retain Your Information After 30 Days Are Up?

Of course, they do. That’s the nature of business today, especially business on the web. Uber never really specifies what that information is, but you can expect it to be the typical sort of information that most major businesses hold onto, which means everything.

You may think that’s a little overboard, but since Uber doesn’t specify what information they hold back, you can only assume that they retain a database with your information sitting on it.

We know that they will retain a database of all of your deliveries, cancellations, trips, etc. Of course, it makes sense for them to keep those because when it comes time to file your taxes, that may be information both you and Uber need.

So if you’re worried that Uber is going to hold on to some of your information after you’ve deleted your account and your thirty days are up, don’t be because they will.

What Would Stop You From Deactivating An Uber Account?

Two main things will keep you from deactivating your Uber account, an outstanding payment that is due or not having access to your phone or email when you have to enter your secondary authentication code.

When you sign into Uber and use DFAS, they will send a code to either your email or the phone number you used to set it up. It just so happens that we human beings love to get new phones occasionally, and that might mean getting a new phone number.

When that happens—and it’s a lot more common than you would think—you may run into this issue. If you can’t access the original phone to retrieve your code, you’ll need to contact Uber by logging into your account and going to their support page

The other possibility is if you have an outstanding payment that is due. You cannot delete or deactivate your Uber account until all outstanding payments are satisfied. Once you’ve cleared up any fees owed to Uber, you can deactivate your account.

Both issues are frequent occurrences, and both will keep you from deactivating your account. If you need to make a payment to Uber, visit their website and get your account cleared up so you can proceed with deactivating your account.

Twitter
Facebook
Reddit
WhatsApp